



CONTACT: Meg Casper Sunstrom Legislative Communications Office <u>sunstromm@legis.la.gov</u> <u>https://house.louisiana.gov/CRLD/crld@legis.la.gov</u>

March 20, 2024

Capital Region Legislative Delegation Announces Elections of 2024-2028 Officers

BATON ROUGE, La. – Representative Dixon Wallace McMakin (R) of Baton Rouge (HD 68), has been elected as Chairman of the Capital Region Legislative Delegation (CRLD), the Legislature's most diverse regional organization.

The other officers include Representatives Larry Selders (D) of Baton Rouge (HD 67), Vice Chairman, Representative Vanessa Caston LaFleur (D) of Baton Rouge (HD 101), Secretary and Jeff Wiley (R) of Gonzales (HD 81), Treasurer.

"I am deeply honored and humbled to have been chosen by my fellow legislators to chair the Capital Region Legislative Delegation," said Chair McMakin. "This bipartisan group, representing the diverse and vibrant communities of the nine parishes that make up our capital region, stand at the forefront of shaping a prosperous future for our region. Together, we hold a shared vision of progress, unity, and excitement. I am filled with hope and optimism for what we can achieve as we collaborate across party lines to address the challenges and seize the opportunities that lie ahead for our communities. Thank you to my fellow members for entrusting me with this responsibility; I am committed to leading with dedication, integrity, and a steadfast commitment to the well-being and success of our region."

The Capital Region Legislative Delegation, founded in 2008, consists of 30 members of the Legislature representing the nine parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana.